After breakfast I turned the kids loose so I could pick up the disaster created in the kitchen and hopefully squeeze in a shower. After only a couple of minutes, I heard William let out quite the scream. I ran into his sister's room, where he was playing with her kitchen stuff, and sure enough he had a big scratch under his eye. I'm still not sure how he got it (Sam is innocent btw, she was in the playroom while all this went down), but he is now sporting a good ole shiner, just in time for Halloween. I finally calmed him down just in time for Samantha to have an accident. Oh great! I guess I'll clean the kitchen later and shower later. After I changed Samantha's clothes, I decided her hair needed some attention since she went to bed with slightly damp hair. Talk about bed head! I should mention, Samantha hates her hair being combed and I don't blame her. Her hair gets tangled very easily and its hard to comb her hair without it hurting. After what seemed like 30 minutes I finally get all the tangles out and make two cute little piggy tails. I go check on William and of course I am greeted with a smell that could knock your socks off. Oh boy! This is going to be bad. And it was. To make matters worse William loves to squirm when being changed. Poo went everywhere. After I sanitized every surface of his room, myself, and Will, I go see what Samantha is up too. I look in her room, and there she is wrestling with her big stuffed bear. What used to be cute little piggy tails now looked like a big rats nest of static and goo! I wanted to scream and throw the stupid bear out the window.
The morning continued on, and before I knew it, it was 11:30. Time to start lunch and add to the mountain of disaster in the kitchen. I might add, I hate preparing lunch. Its difficult to prepare a quick and healthy meal. So spaghetti and meatballs it is, with a side of grapes and yogurt. Very random, but I try to get all the food groups involved. That did not turn out well, at least not for my kitchen floor. William thought it great fun to fling the noodles onto the floor. And Sam, picked at her food like normal. Thank God for Flintstone Vitamins because I don't think my kids ate much of anything at lunch today. After lunch, William started rubbing his eyes. Yes! Hallelujah! Now only one child to deal with while the other one sleeps. Is that wrong of me? Actually I don't care. I needed a little break.
But of course did I get a break? No! How silly of me to think that would happen. As of late Samantha has quickly learned that when William takes a nap, she has Mama all to herself. Which I don't mind at all, except today. I just really wanted to shower. Yes, it's true I was still in my pjs. So first we made a cute little pumpkin craft (that took entirely way too long), then she wanted to play school, and then she wanted to play games. After a few rounds of Hi-Ho Cheerio (a clever game for toddlers, but a very boring game for adults), I finally had had enough. I told Sam she needed to go play with her toys in her bedroom or playroom. She was not happy with this idea. Seriously, I have never met a child that struggles entertaining herself as much as Samantha. I took to the computer to check my Facebook. God forbid I miss some Facebook gossip. I looked at Pinterest for recipes ideas, then Target.com for Christmas shopping inspiration, and sadly took another look at Facebook. Ahh, quiet time.
Not long after that, William woke up. Bye bye quiet time. Thankfully William woke up in a great mood, and wanted to join his sister in the playroom. Alrighty, while they're entertaining each other, I will get dinner ready. Hmmmm...what to cook for dinner? Ummmm...what sounds good? Let me think... Chicken and rice. A go to dinner! That sounds good, but mostly easy! Did I mention, I still hadn't showered. Of course, just as I am getting dinner ready, the door bell rings. "Who the heck could that be, and crap they're going to see me look like..crap!" It turned out only to be a door to door salesmen trying to sell some cleaning solution. He would not shut up! Do I look like someone who has time to clean?! For goodness' sake, I am still in my pjs, my hair is a bigger rats nest than Sam's, there is a disaster in my kitchen, the kids are screaming about something...GO AWAY! Okay, I didn't really say that, but I told him "now is not a good time", and that was the honest truth.
Today, was not a good time. My poor husband came home to a smelly wife, smelly house, and a sub-par dinner. Before he knew it, I was in tears venting every thought that came across my mind. He looked shell-shocked. After my rant, I looked at him and stated "I think I am going to take a shower." So off I went. I stood in the bathroom and started at myself in the mirror for a few seconds. Ewww, was the only thing that came to mind. And then I did the thing where you stare at yourself in the mirror while you cry. Please, tell me some of you do this, or else I might admit myself to the loony bin. After a few minutes I felt better, so I turned my ipod on and blasted some Adele (I LOVE her music). I made sure it was loud enough so Steve wouldn't hear me sing along and miss every single note. Plus the louder the music the easier it was to ignore every little sound of my children. Oh, did I just say that out loud? I am for sure going to win mother of the year now, Bwhahahaha! I turned the shower on and spent the next 20 minutes in Heaven. It was the best shower EVER! I took my time. I didn't have to rush out of the shower to attend to the kids because the worlds best husband was out there manning the chaos. I left the conditioner in my hair for the recommended time, something I never have time to do. I made sure to use a ridiculous amount of body wash just to make things extra bubbly, and I shaved off the forest of tree stumps growing on my legs. It was magical.
The lesson learned today. When things get a little messy, take a shower. It rejuvenates!