A while back I mentioned my concern with Samantha's attitude, and if I remember correctly I used the term spoiled. I am totally wrong. She isn't spoiled. I've come to realize that I was being too hard on Samantha and over analyzing everything! Sometimes I forget, she's three! Who ever came up with the saying "terrible twos" must not have been a parent! Three is way worse than two!
My new stance came about from recent outings to the mall and McDonald's (yes, I let my child eat crap food every once in awhile.) In both places I witnessed children throwing huge screaming fits and the parent backing down to them. These children were in control of their parents. Even though these children were in control, they were out of control wild! On two different occasions, Samantha was pushed or hit (on purpose) by other little children. It was refreshing because Samantha looked at me with pure shock on her face. She didn't know what to do, but she knew not to hit back and she knew hitting was bad.
Another thing that changed my mind is Samantha's reaction to the word "no." If she asks for candy at the store, or to watch TV and I say "no", she's fine with it. She doesn't throw herself down kicking and screaming, instead she goes off to find something else to occupy her time. Although, I've heard her stomp her feet and give a little huff, but I would much rather deal with that, then an explosion. In fact, I'm glad she shows some dissatisfaction. I don't want to raise a daughter who lets people walk all over her. She needs to express her discontent in some way and stomping her feet at this age, is a way better choice than throwing a temper tantrum. I could learn a thing or two from her. I can't even begin to count the times I have seen children cry and scream because they had to leave the toy store. I'm sure I was one of those kids. I can think of only one time that Samantha fell to the floor like a noodle while leaving The Learning Tree. Not too bad considering she's three. Even as I write this, I feel so convicted. I can't believe I called her spoiled! I'm remembering so many times where Samantha has chosen the right way. Just a couple of days ago we where walking in Target, on a mission for something, and of course she wanted to look at the toys, but we were in a hurry and I told her no. She pleaded for a minute, but then when she realized I wasn't backing down, she stopped and continued on.
I'm not saying she's perfect. She knows how to test me and which buttons to push, and she tries to manipulate us at times, but all in all, she is such a good girl. Her newest trick is to say "I just wanted to give you a hug and kiss" right after I scold her for doing something naughty. Nice try Samantha, but I am smarter than you think. What matters most, to me at least, is her character. Samantha has a big heart. She is empathic; she hates to see us sad or upset for any reason, she is caring; she sings or gives toys to William to cheer him up, and she's kind to everyone...you get my point.
So what if she jumps on the couch, even after I told her for the 100th time not to, or refuses to eat her dinner one night. In my eyes those are molehills, and I am not going to turn them into mountains. I don't know what possessed me to think she was spoiled, and to blog about it. I guess I was just having one of those days where I needed to vent. I can tell you right now, I feel so blessed to have such a precious daughter.
No comments:
Post a Comment